Post 6:Self evaluation

What sort of an illustrator are you? What sort of career do you want to have?

I think I’m more of a concept artist.  I love drawing and working with my hands.  I can have crazy imagination sometimes.  I just love creating.  I’m really into fictional stuff and stories that walk the line between reality and fiction.  Being able to create new things would be great job.  I like writing too, so i guess i could do story boards or comics as well.

Does your present body of work reflect your aspirations? Could it do so more strongly?

My work does sometimes.  I love the projects we had for illustration 4, but i wasn’t that experience with digital media.  I feel that I hold back a lot in class and I find myself not happy with most of my work.  I need to definitely learn to work quicker.  So yes i know my work could be stronger. I just need to loosen up or something.

List ten images/themes/techniques/subjects/formats that your portfolio needs in order to become more in line with your aspirations.

I need more character designs and concepts art.  I want to also focus on doing landscape and environment studies.  My digital work needs more practice as well.  I have to get better a digital painting.  I wont feel satisfied until i do.  I really need to take more chances and do what i know i can do.  Stop holding back.  Painting..I’ve really grown to love painting.  I want to do more of that as well.  I never used oil painting so i want to try that tool.  My work needs to show what I am capable of.  My portfolio needs to show that i want to be a concept artist.

When it comes to technique, once again my digital work.  I feel that there is always room for improvement when it comes to art.  It’s never perfect.

Leave a Reply

