Post 5: Proposal and Projects (being updated)

If you had to spend the rest of your life illustrating one book, what would it be? Why?

It would pick the the The Leviathan series by Scott Westerfield.  Last semester, a friend of mine suggested that book to me when i was looking for something do for my illustration project.  I read a few pages of it and I found myself liking the story.  It also has excellent illustrations.  The book uses the events of World War I to create and entirely new story.  That’s kind of work I love to do.  From reading this book i had so many ideas but so little time.  One of my issues is that I want to improve my working pace? Or work faster?

ImageImageImage

If you could go apprentice with any two artists in the history of the world, who would they be? Why?

I would easily choose to work with an old artist from the renaissance era.  They did amazing work and didn’t have the tools we have today.  Any artist would do, but to get specific i would chose Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni.  He was a painter, sculptor, architect, poet, and engineer.  I would be learning from a master.

If you were banned from the art world, but could have any career you wanted that wasn’t in art, what would it be? Why?

I would choose a career in science such as zoology or archeology.  This is what spark my interest in art when i was a kid.  I like understanding how animals work and behave.  As an archeologist, I am able to travel the world.  Artifacts are interesting and they allow us to understand history.  I myself, I like learning new things and how they operate and function,  I feel this is what inspires my art sometimes.

Describe the project you would propose under the following circumstances. Describe the project in detail: what would it be, how would you spend the money, how would you schedule the time alloted, and how would the be presented upon completions?

 You have one month and one thousand dollars (all of which must be spent on art expenses).

I would propose a project a for doing art work in a space at a local children hospital.  Over the summer I child i knew died from menkes.  Menkes is a disorder that affects copper levels in the body, leading to copper deficiency. It is an x-linked recessive disorder, and is therefore considerably more common in males: females require two defective alleles to develop the disease.  A lot of people don’t know much about that disease and maybe proposing an art project that revolves around that disease would bring awareness.  The piece would be memorial or something to show how many children and family are effected.  The money would go towards of course paint, brushes, and other materials needed.  I would hired a group of five and make it open to any family that wants to get involved.  The artist would be assigned to lead individual groups.  I just want this project fun memorable.

 Six months and ten thousand dollars.

This would be kind of difficult.  Money isn’t my favorite topic.  I really think that i would just expand on my first proposal.  I mean why not?  It’s going to a good cause.  Instead of just painting a space, lets take over an entire floor or room.  Make it more interactive.

 

One year and one hundred thousand dollars.

One hundred thousand dollars…I would make a proposal for a theme space.  The design would be based on art work submitted by kids. Children have very active and crazy imaginations.  So I think it would be interesting to see what they come up with.  Also, it’s crazy world out there and, even they need their own space or safe haven.  But from their designs I would create something that can be meshed together as one  amazing area.  So the play area would actually be theirs.  The money would be spent on getting materials and once again hiring a team of fellow artist to guide the project.
The area would be an interior space.  This would help preserve the play area.  In the space will be crazy craw spaces, walk ways and slides to link each area.  In the center would be a design that incorporates a ball pit or one of those bouncy room things.   So they would actually have their own town-like space.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

