It’s been a wh…

It’s been a while sense posted on my blog and summer is almost over.  This a new school year and I’m one step closer to the final stretch.  I will be an official senior next semester and I’m stoked about it!  Coming back to school this semester, the student body was face with quite a few changes.  As for myself, I have a new illustration teacher, who seems pretty awesome so far.  This year, expect a lot more post and blog updates from me this time around.  Our class have been task with making daily updates.  So this requires me to be more discipline. I can handle it.

Post 1:

What media do you like/hate working in? Why? What media would you like to try but haven’t?

My favorite media to work with are pencils.  It doesn’t matter what kind, i just love using them because of the sense of control.  Also, as a kid it was the only media I had at the time, so I learned to work with what i had.  I improvised a lot.  But, I’m not picky when it comes to art media.  I’m fairly open.  I enjoy the challenge of trying something new.  The media i hated the most was actually painting.  Although now I’ve grown to appreciate it thanks to my illustration 2 teacher.This is the first art school I’ve every been to so coming here introduced me to a lot more art tools to use.  It took me sometime to get the grasp of them.  Still, it’s amazing combining them to create something new.  But my roots will always be with pencils.  I would love to someday work with is actually oil painting.  People have told me that it’s good.  I won’t truly know until i’ve tried it myself.  I played with it as a kid, but I haven’t sense used it.

List three non-illustration classes that have influenced you and/or your work positively.  Explain.

One class that have influenced me was my sculpture classes.  Sometimes it made more inspired to do my illustration projects.  In sculpture all form of medium is open.  Also my drawing classes have been an important influence. Drawing classes introduced me to other medium such as conte.  Although i did not enjoy it, but design systems was a class that taught me to pay attention to the details and how people may view your art,

How has the work of your peers influenced you and your work?

Seeing my peers work is very influential.  Each one has their style and to see them work hard on their work drives me.  I’m not a real competitive person, because i love learning new things.  I don’t mind getting tips from my peers.  I just use it to make myself better.

What sort of subject matter do you like to create work or read about?

I’m more into the fantasy work.  I like the challenge of taking something really and combining it with something no one would ever think of.  I love reading about subjects such as mythology and horror tales.  The stories behind them is what expires me the most.  I like to push my imagination as much as possible.  As a kid i drew everything i could think of.  Somewhere along the way I lost that part of me.  I want that inspiration back where i was not afraid of being creative.

What kind of music do you like? Why? 

I’m open to music for the most part.  My favorite music is rock…Nirvana mostly.  My least favorite is R&B/Soul.  Rock music is something I grew up listening to.  Where I’m from, people are not big fan of that kind of music.  For me it was something different that i can relate to.  I use it has motivation when am doing work.  It helps me focus.

What non-art related interest/hobbies/skills do you have?

Well, i use be in a band.  I have quite a few guitars.  I’m not the best but i can play what i hear.  Friends say i have a great singing voice.  I think music is another part of me.  My dad use to be a song writer.  So some things kind of come natural.  Balancing art and music can me complicate sometimes.  I really want to try to put more focus on my playing as well.  I like to write fictional stories also.

What is something you like that nobody else likes?

Well, I like animals?  I’m into zoology.  I also like psychology too.  In some forms the two interest kind of work in my favor.  Reading about animals and human habits can be very interesting.  Especially people.  People have habits and certain way of doing things and never stop to think why they do it.

If you had to run of the world’s museums, what three works of original art would you like to own? 

Easy question.  I’m really into artists like Michelangelo who was an expert in multiple areas of art.  But what I love the most are his sculptures.  The amount of detail in them are amazing.  To think, back then, people didn’t have half the tools we have today.  That’s just all skill and I admire that a lot…especially his .  I also love Caravaggio work as well.  Especially The Calling of St. Matthew and the Super at Emmaus.

 

Leave a Reply

